How much does it cost to get married in Illinois?

How do you get married at the courthouse in Illinois?

Applying for a Marriage License

  1. Appear together at one of the Clerk’s six Vital Records locations.
  2. Present valid identification with proof of age.
  3. Fill out and sign the marriage license application.
  4. Pay the marriage license fee of $60.

What do I need to get married in Illinois?

Bring with you a form of identification, such as a birth certificate, driver’s license, or passport. The marriage license is valid for 60 days, and is valid only in the county in which it was issued, which means that your marriage ceremony must take place within that county.

How fast can you get married in Illinois?

After applying for an Illinois marriage license at the county clerk’s office where the wedding is taking place, it will be issued to you immediately. There are no waiting periods and the license is valid for up to 60 days and takes effect the day after it was issued.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: What flowers did Queen Victoria carry at her wedding?

Do I need witnesses to get married in Illinois?

Illinois: Witnesses are not required by Illinois law. … Witnesses must be age 18 or older. Kentucky: Kentucky law require two (2) persons other than those being married and the person solemnizing the marriage must be present as witnesses.

How do you get married at the courthouse?

Courthouse wedding checklist

  1. Do your research. …
  2. Gather the required documents. …
  3. Apply for a marriage license. …
  4. Set a courthouse ceremony date. …
  5. Secure a court-approved officiant. …
  6. Get a witness (if necessary). …
  7. Invite your family and friends. …
  8. Think about post-ceremony celebrations.

Can I get a marriage license online in Illinois?

Couples can now apply for a Marriage License online. Pursuant to Executive Order 2020-36, signed by Governor Pritzker on May 1, 2020, authorizes our office to use videoconferencing technology to enable couples to apply for a Marriage License.

Who can marry you in Illinois?

Weddings in Illinois can be performed by: Judges or retired judges; A county clerk in a county having at least 2,000,000 people (e.g., Cook County);

Can I get a marriage license online?

You can begin the application process to receive a Marriage License online via “City Clerk Online”. This will speed up the process which then must be completed in person at the Office of the City Clerk. … You must wait a full 24 hours before your Marriage Ceremony can be performed unless you obtain a Judicial Waiver.

What states can you marry at 12?

Marriage Age By State 2021

State With Parental Consent Without Parental Consent
Massachusetts 12 18
New Hampshire 13 18
Hawaii 15 18
Missouri 15 18
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Is it cheaper to get married in India?

What makes a marriage legal?

The marriage license must be signed by the couple, one or more witnesses, and the officiant conducting the ceremony. The officiant must take the signed marriage license to the appropriate court office to have it filed. … Once the license has been filed, the marriage is officially legal.

Can a pastor marry a couple without a marriage license?

The answer is the couple cannot be legally married without a marriage license present. If the Officiant performs the wedding ceremony without a valid marriage license they have committed a misdemeanor. … The couple will have to have a commitment ceremony in this case.

Do you need a blood test to get married in Illinois?

Illinois doesn’t require a blood test or a physical. The law requires that the county clerk must provide a free health information pamphlet to the applicants of the marriage license; the pamphlet contains information on sexually transmitted infections and inherited metabolic diseases.

Do you need witnesses to elope?

Do you need witnesses? Most states require that two witnesses be physically present to sign the marriage license, but some states/countries have different requirements. Some states even allow you to self-solemnize, which means you don’t even need witnesses!

What states do you not need a witness to get married?

Witnesses to Marriages by State

  • Alabama: No witnesses required.
  • Alaska: Two witnesses needed.
  • Arizona: Signed by couple, two witnesses, and the officiating minister in Arizona.
  • Arkansas: No witnesses needed.
  • California: Signature of one witness.