How do you get married at the courthouse in SC?
How to obtain your South Carolina Marriage License
- File a Marriage License Application in person at the Probate Court office.
- Provide proper Identification (Check with the specific county for identification requirements.)
- Pay the Appropriate License Fee.
- Observe a 24 Hour Waiting Period.
How much does it cost to get married at the courthouse in SC?
A South Carolina marriage license costs between $30 and $100. The fee varies by county and residency. Most applicants pay about $50.
What is needed to get married SC?
How to Apply Online
- Valid driver’s license.
- Original birth certificate or a certified copy of the birth certificate.
- Valid S.C. identification card issued by the S.C. Highway Department.
- Current military identification card.
- A current passport.
Do you need a witness to get married in SC?
Witnesses: South Carolina does not require a witness to the marriage.
Can a notary marry you in SC?
If you’re getting married in one of the four states of Nevada, South Carolina, Florida, or Maine, your Notary Public can officiate your wedding.
Who can marry you in SC?
There’s ONE single little rule pertaining to who can perform a marriage ceremony in South Carolina: All you have to do is be ordained as a “minister of the Gospel***”, which can be completely non-denominational.
Do marriage licenses expire in South Carolina?
Once the Marriage License is issued, a ceremony can take place in South Carolina only. … NOTE: After the Marriage License is issued, it never expires.
Do you need a blood test to get married in South Carolina?
No blood test or physical exam is required. South Carolina residency is not required. A South Carolina license can be used in any county in the state. If recently divorced, legal proof of the divorce may be needed.
Can I get a marriage license online?
You can begin the application process to receive a Marriage License online via “City Clerk Online”. This will speed up the process which then must be completed in person at the Office of the City Clerk. … You must wait a full 24 hours before your Marriage Ceremony can be performed unless you obtain a Judicial Waiver.
Can you get a marriage license online in South Carolina?
The Richland County Probate Court is working to assist South Carolina couples who are getting married during the pandemic. We have implemented a new online system to allow us to process your Marriage License Application without you having to appear in person.
How fast can you get a marriage license?
There is no waiting period. The clerk will give you your license immediately. If you have been married before, you must show proof of divorce, death or annulment. The cost for applying varies by county, and some counties will only accept cash payments.
Can a pastor marry a couple without a marriage license?
The answer is the couple cannot be legally married without a marriage license present. If the Officiant performs the wedding ceremony without a valid marriage license they have committed a misdemeanor. … The couple will have to have a commitment ceremony in this case.
What states can you marry at 12?
Marriage Age By State 2021
|State||With Parental Consent||Without Parental Consent|